A New University ‘Vikram Dev University’ Comes up in Jeypore

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government on Thursday announced establishment of a new university ‘Vikram Dev University’ at Jeypore in Koraput district.

The new university has been created by altering the territorial Jurisdiction of Berhampur University.

After Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik approved a proposal to grant university status to famous Vikram Dev College, the Higher Education Department has issued an official notification in this regard.

“In exercise of powers conferred by sub-section (1) and (2) of Section 32 of the Odisha University Act, 1989 (Odisha Act 5 of 1989), the State Government do hereby alter the territorial Jurisdiction of Berhampur University by establishing a new University called the Vikram Dev University at,Jeypore, Koraput, Odisha with effect from the date of notification in the Odisha Gazette”, the notification reads.

Fulfilling the long-standing demand of the intellectuals and students of the undivided Koraput district, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday approved a proposal for upgradation of Vikram Dev College into University.

All the colleges of undivided Koraput district are affiliated to Brahmapur University.

Now this new university will benefit thousands of students from Koraput, Rayagada Nabarangpur and Malkangiri districts.

Comments are closed.