Bihar Polls: Polling for Votes begins for first phase; 5% Voter Turnout Recorded Till 8 AM

Patna: Polling began in 71 assembly constituencies of Bihar at 7 am today in the first phase of three-phase elections amid tight security and COVID-19 guidelines in place. More than two crore voters across the state set to seal the fate of 1,066 candidates contesting from 71 seats. These constituencies fall in six districts, including naxal-hit Gaya, Rohtas and Aurangabad.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday urged voters to exercise their electoral rights as polling for the first phase of Bihar Assembly polls is underway.

“Today is the first round of voting in Bihar assembly elections. I urge all voters to ensure their participation in this festival of democracy, taking precautions related to Covid. Maintain 6-feet distance and wear a mask. Remember first vote, then refreshment!” Modi tweeted.

The first phase of elections will decide the fate of a number of political heavyweights. These include, apart from former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi, eight ministers: Prem Kumar, Krishnandan Verma, Shailesh Kumar, Vijay Kumar Sinha, Jai Kumar Singh, Ramnarayan Mandal, Santosh Kumar Nirala and Brij Kishore Bind.

The Bihar election, the first assembly election since the coronavirus outbreak, is being held in the shadow of the pandemic.

Comments are closed.