BJD May Declare Rajya Sabha Candidates Today

Bhubaneswar: Even as the speculations are going around, the Biju Janata Dal may announce the list of candidates for the ensuing Rajya Sabha Elections in Odisha today. Party President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is expected to announce the names this evening.

The last date for filling the nominations is 25th June 2019. Though three Rajya Sabha seats are vacant, there are more than ten contenders for the coveted seats. But from the names making rounds include former MLA of Berhampur Ramesh Chandra Chayupatnaik, former Bhubaneswar legislator Priyadarshi Mishra and former Accountant General Amar Patnaik.

The Chief Minister had assured former MP from Bhubaneswar Prassanna Patasani for the Rajya Sabha during the elections but as some allegations have surfaced that he indulged in anti-party activities, his candidature for Rajya Sabha looks bleak.

Whatever may be the speculations, the final decision will be taken by the party supremo.

Comments are closed.