BJP Names Bhawanipatna MLA Pradipta Naik as Legislature Party Leader

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday named Bhawanipatna MLA Pradipta Kumar Naik as the leader of the legislature party a day before the commencement of the first session of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly.

National President Amit Shah approved Naik’s name as the leader of the legislature party, the BJP said in a statement.

Sambalpur MLA Jayanarayan Mishra, Keonjhar MLA Mohan Charan Majhi and Dhamnagar MLA Bishnu Charan Sethi were also in the race for the top post, media reports stated.

Earlier, the BJP legislature party meet held at party’s headquarters here to elect the leader of opposition ended inconclusive.

The BJP is the second largest party with 23 members in the current Assembly.

Comments are closed.