Counting Will Be Taken Up In 63 Centres In Odisha: CEO

Bhubaneswar: Counting will be taken up in 63 centres, said Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar today.

 As many as 6,700 officials have been engaged for the exercise. Each counting centre will have three counting halls and one micro observer will monitor three halls, Kumar maintained.

Adressing press, CEO Surendra Kumar said that  maximum 14 tables are allowed by the Election Commission of India for counting of votes. In the matter of Odisha, it is an exception. The ECI has permitted more tables for Odisha as State witnessed simultaneous polls for Assembly and Lok Sabha, he added.

EC has allowed 411 more tables. The additional tables will be allotted to centres where more rounds of counting will be held, he further said.

Result of Sambalpur Assembly constituency may come out first as minimum 19 rounds of counting will be for Sambalpur. Similarly, Patnagarh Assembly seat having 49 rounds has the maximum counting rounds in the State.

The counting process will begin at 8 am on May 23. The counting of postal ballot will be held first. Half an hour after, EVM will be counted and later counting of VVPAT will be held. Any postal ballot for counting, if received beyond 8AM on Wednesday will not be entertained.

Comments are closed.