Cuttack All Set to Host Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship

Cuttack: Adding another feather to Odisha’s illustrious sporting cap, the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack is all set to host the 21st edition of the Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships from Wednesday. The mega event is going to witness participation players from 12 countries that include Australia, Bangladesh, Cyprus, England, Malaysia, India, Sri Lanka, Nigeria, Scotland, South Africa, Singapore and Wales. Earlier Pakistan, Uganda and Ghana were expected to join the games but backtracked due to various reasons.

While players from more than five countries have already landed in Odisha, the remaining are expected to arrive today. The indoor stadium in Cuttack has been readied for the event. The Sports and Youth Services Minister Tusharkanti Behera reviewed the preparations and held discussion with the administration for smooth management of the event. The Table Tennis Federation of India is very much happy to organize the event in the millennium city of Cuttack.

According to Table Tennis Federation of India General Secretary MP Singh the tournament is going to be bigger in the coming days and this event is the starting point for that.

Comments are closed.