Dates for Bijepur Bi-election  Announced

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India has announced the schedule for by-polls to the Bijepur Constituency. The elections for the seat will be held on the 21st October and the notification will be issued on 23rd September 2019.

Speaking to the press in New Delhi, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora also announced election dates for by-poll to 64 assembly seats in various states. Maharastra and Haryana assembly elections will also be held on October 21st. The last date for nominations will be September 30 followed by scrutiny on October 1. Candidates can withdraw their nomination before 3rd October. The counting of votes will be held on October 24.

Bijepur assembly seat under Bargarh Parliamentary constituency fell vacant with Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik retaining the Hinjili seat. The chief minister had also won from Bijepur with a vast margin of more than fifty thousand votes.

Comments are closed.