Karnataka Crisis: 21 Cong Ministers Resign to Save Govt

 New Delhi: In a final attempt to save the government from collapse, 21 Congress ministers in the JD(S)-Congress government in Karnataka on Monday allowing the party leadership to make way for rebel MLAs in cabinet.

As per reports, the ministers submitted their resignation to party chief Dinesh Gundu Rao to placate the rebel MLAs after a meeting chaired by Karnataka deputy CM G Parameshwara on Monday.

The 34-member Cabinet had 22 Congress ministers and 12 of the JD(S). Except for Independent legislator R Shankar who was made a minister under its quota, the rest 21 Congress ministers the rest 21 Congress ministers have resigned.

The leaders have resigned voluntarily, on their own volition, in the interest of the party, said AICC general secretary in-charge of Karnataka KC Venugopal.

Former Karnataka chief minister and Congress leader Siddaramaiah also appealed the rebel legislators who have resigned to reconsider their decision and strengthen the government.

“I, on behalf of Congress party, request all those who have resigned to reconsider their decision and strengthen our government,” Siddaramaiah said.

“Our ministers have voluntarily resigned to help save the government. We will try to accommodate those MLAs who have resigned and interested to be the ministers. We will reshuffle the cabinet keeping regional aspirations and social obligations in mind,” he added.

The Congress-JD(S) government is in deep crisis after 13 MLAs, 10 Congress and three JD(S), submitted their resignations to the Speaker.

Comments are closed.