Naveen Elected BJD Legislature Party Chief, Stakes Claim to Form Govt

Bhubaneswar: Naveen Patnaik has been elected as the leader of the Biju Janata Dal’s legislator party ahead of formation of the fifth consecutive BJD government in Odisha. 

The newly-elected legislators of BJD unanimously chose party supremo Naveen Patnaik as their leader at a meeting held at the party office in Bhubaneswar.

After being elected as the party chief, Naveen met Odisha Governor Ganeshi Lal to stake claim to form the new government under his leadership.

Notably, Naveen will take oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for the record consecutive term at IDCO Exhibition Ground on May 29.

The BJD has registered an overwhelming victory in the Assembly election winning 112 seats in 147-seat house.  The elections were held in all constituencies except Patkura.

Comments are closed.