Odisha BJP Legislature Meet Ends without Electing LP Leader, Shah to Take Call

All Is Not Well In State BJP; No Consensus on Legislature Party Leader

Bhubaneswar: There seems that all is not well in the State unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party. The party which won 23 assembly seats and 8 Parliament seats in the last elections could not elect its leader of for the Odisha Assembly.

Even as the first session of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly will commence in just two days, the saffron party is still undecided on its legislature party leader who will eventually be the Leader of Opposition.

The BJP Legislature Party (LP) meet held at party’s state headquarters here today in the presence of Central observer Saroj Pandey could not elect the leader.

As per sources, BJP national president Amit Shah will take a final call in this regard.

In the just concluded Assembly elections, the BJP had managed to win 23 seats only against its highly ambitious Mission 120 plus and has emerged as the main opposition party in the Assembly replacing the Congress, which has got just nine seats.

While Sambalpur MLA Jayanarayan Mishra and Bhawanipatna MLA Pradipta Kumar Naik are in the race to the leader post, Keonjhar MLA Mohan Majhi is also said to be a strong contender for the post of Leader of Opposition. But the saffron party has failed to reach a consensus in choosing a leader, sources said.

Comments are closed.