Odisha’s Amit Rohidas to Lead Indian Men’s Hockey Team for FIH Pro League Matches against Germany

Bhubaneswar: Ace Odisha hockey player Amit Rohidas will lead the 22-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team against Germany in the upcoming FIH Men’s Hockey Pro League double-header on 14th and 15th April 2022 at the iconic Kalinga Hockey Stadium in Bhubaneswar.

Hockey India has announced the Indian Team for the FIH Men’s Hockey Pro League on Monday.

The team will be captained by defender Amit Rohidas and Vice-Captained by Harmanpreet Singh.

The 22-member squad includes goalkeepers PR Sreejesh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak, and defenders Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Jugraj Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, and Gurinder Singh.
The midfield will see Nilakanta Sharma, Manpreet Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Shamsher Singh, Hardik Singh, and Moirangthem Rabichandra Singh while the forward line will feature Sukhjeet Singh, Abhishek, Mandeep Singh, Shilanand Lakra, Dilpreet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, and Akashdeep Singh.

Speaking about the team, Chief Coach Graham Reid said, “This year’s FIH Pro League has provided us with great opportunities to try different combinations and tactics. We have recognised what works and, more importantly, what areas we need to improve on. This week against Germany is the last leg of our home games for this year and we are looking forward to two more world-class encounters once again. Germany are always an extremely tough opponent and given where we both are on the ladder it will be important for us to finish this week with as many points as possible to remain at the top of the points table.”

The Indian Team has thus far played ten matches in this season of FIH Hockey Pro League. The team is currently placed on top of the table with 21 points, while Germany are placed at the second place with 17 points in 8 games. The Indian team has beaten South Africa at home (10-2, 10-2) while they won a game and lost a game each against France (5-0, 2-5) which was also held in South Africa. At home, India won a game and lost one to Spain (5-4, 3-5), won one game 4-3 and lost one 2-2 (1-3 SO) against Argentina, and recently, won both their games against England, 3-3 (3-2 SO), and 4-3.

Indian Team:


1. Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran
2. Krishan B Pathak
1. Varun Kumar
2. Amit Rohidas
3. Surender Kumar
4. Jugraj Singh
5. Harmanpreet Singh
6. Jarmanpreet Singh
7. Gurinder Singh
1. Nilakanta Sharma
2. Manpreet Singh
3. Vivek Sagar Prasad
4. Shamsher Singh
5. Hardik Singh
6. Moirangthem Rabichandra Singh
1. Sukhjeet Singh
2. Abhishek
3. Mandeep Singh
4. Shilanand Lakra
5. Dilpreet Singh
6. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
7. Akashdeep Singh

Comments are closed.