Rajya Sabha Elections: Four BJD Candidates To File Nominations Today

Bhubaneswar: All the four candidates of Biju Janata Dal who have been nominated by party supremo Naveen Patnaik for the Rajya Sabha will file their nomination papers today. They will file the nomination papers at the office of the Returning Officer in Assembly Secretariat. While BJD senior leader and National Spokesperson Sasmit Patra will file his nomination papers for his second term in the Rajya Sabha, Manas Mangaraj, Sulata Deo and Niranjan Bishi will also file their papers today. Bishi has been nominated to take the place of Subash Singh who resigned from the Rajya Sabha after being elected as the Mayor of Cuttack. With the Biju Janata Dal having 113 seats in the State Assembly, all the four nominations will get through and there will not be any requirement for voting.

If required, the polling will be held for three Rajya Sabha seats from 9 am to 4 pm on June 10, and the counting of votes will take place at 5 PM on the same day. For the seat vacated by Subash Singh, the by-election will take place on June 13th and the counting will be held on the same day.

Comments are closed.