Two Odia Players Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohitdas included in Team India for FIH Men’s Series Finals

Bhubaneswar: Two Odia hockey stars Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas have found a berth in the Team India for the FIH Men’s Series Finals to be held at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar.

Hockey India has appointed Lakra as the vice-captain of the 18-member team, which was announced today.

The squad will be captained by Manpreet Singh. Experienced goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and Krishan B Pathak will defend India’s goalpost while Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas and Gurinder Singh will add to India’s might in the backline.

Young players like Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Sumit and Nilakanta Sharma have been also included in the team.

Striker Ramandeep will manage the forward line. He will join Mandeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Simranjeet Singh and Akashdeep Singh to form India’s attack.

The team has aimed to enter Olympic Qualifying event to be held later this year.

Comments are closed.