Two Odisha Players Included in Team India for FIH Men’s Series Finals | News Room Odisha

Two Odisha Players Included in Team India for FIH Men’s Series Finals

Bhubaneswar: Two players from Odisha have been included in the 18-member national team announced by Hockey India for the FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha 2019.

Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas have found berth in the team. Lakra is the vice-captain of the team. The Indian team will be led by Manpreet Singh.

Hockey India has retained all the 18 players of the Indian Team that took part at the recently concluded Australian Tour where the team won two matches against WA Thundersticks and Australia ‘A’ respectively, drew another match against Australia ‘A’ and lost the last two matches against the World No. 2 Australian Team.

Veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and Krishan B Pathak will defend India’s goalpost while Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas and Gurinder Singh will add to India’s might in the backline, a statement said. 

Manpreet Singh will play a key role along with youngsters Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Sumit and Nilakanta Sharma as midfielders. 

 The forward-line will be taken care by striker Ramandeep Singh who last wore the India colours at the FIH Champions Trophy in Breda last year. He had since been out of action due to a knee injury. He will join Mandeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Simranjeet Singh and Akashdeep Singh to form India’s attack.

India hopes to finish on the top in order to make it for the Olympic Qualifying event to be held later this year.

 Indian Team:


1. PR Sreejesh

2. Krishan B Pathak


3. Harmanpreet Singh

4. Birendra Lakra (Vice Captain)

5. Surender Kumar

6. Varun Kumar

7. Amit Rohidas

8. Gurinder Singh


9. Manpreet Singh (Captain)

10. Hardik Singh

11. Vivek Sagar Prasad

12. Sumit

13. Nilakanta Sharma


14. Mandeep Singh

15. Akashdeep Singh

16. Ramandeep Singh

17. Gursahibjit Singh

18. Simranjit Singh

FIH Series FinalTeam India