Vice Presidential Election: BJD MPs Vote in Favour of Jagdeep Dhankhar

New Delhi: The Biju Janata Dal MPs on Saturday voted in favour of the NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar in the Vice Presidential election.

“As directed by Chief Minister and BJD President Naveen Patnaik, the Biju Janata Dal MPs from Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha voted in favour of Vice Presidential candidate Shri. Jagdeep Dhankhar this morning in the Parliament House”, a statement issued by the Odisha’s ruling party said.

Polling to elect the next Vice President of India is underway in the Parliament House.

The voting, which began at 10 a.m., will conclude at 5 p.m. After counting of votes in the evening, the next Vice President will be elected.

The Vice President will take the oath of office on August 11, as the term of the incumbent Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu ends on August 10.

Opposition candidate Alva is contesting against NDA’s candidate and former West Bengal governor Jagdeep Dhankhar in the polls.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.