Voting for Second Phase Polls Begins in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Voting began across five Lok Sabha constituencies and 35 Assembly seats in the second phase of the simultaneous elections in Odisha on Monday.

The voting is underway in Kandhamal, Sundargarh, Bargarh, Bolangir and Aska parliamentary constituencies and the 35 Assembly segments under them.

The voting began at 7 am in 11 districts of Odisha. The voters were seen standing in long queues at their respective polling booths to exercise their franchise.

More than 79 lakh electorate in five Lok Sabha constituencies and 35 Assembly segments would decide the fate of 305 candidates in the fray for the second phase of elections.

As many as 40 candidates are contesting the five Parliamentary constituencies and 265 candidates are in the fray for the 35 Assembly seats.

The most prominent leader in the second phase polls is Chief Minister and BJD President Naveen Patnaik, who is contesting from Hinjili and Kantabanji Assembly constituencies.

Other important leaders who are in the electoral battle include Jual Oram, Dr Achyuta Samanta, Bikram Keshari Arukha, Sushant Singh, Kalikesh Narayan Singhdeo, Niranjan Pujari, Dilip Ray, Dilip Tirkey, Sangeeta Singh Deo, Kanak Vardhan Singhdeo, and Pradip Kumar Amat.

Comments are closed.