EC Issues Notification for By-polls to Three RS Seats in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) today issued notification for by-polls to three Rajya Sabha seats of Odisha.

As per the notification, the last date for filing nominations is June 25 while the last date for nomination withdrawal is June 28.

Elections will be held on July 5 from 9 am to 4 pm, the notification said.

The three seats which fell vacant were held by Achyutananda Samanta, Pratap Keshari Deb, and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik.

Samanta was elected to Lok Sabha from Kandhamal seat, Deb and Patnaik won from Aul and Khandapada Assembly segments in the just concluded elections.

Samanta and Patnaik’s term in the Upper House was to end in April, 2024 while Deb’s term in the Rajya Sabha was till July, 2022.

Comments are closed.