Odisha Olympian Deep Grace Ekka Named Vice Captain of Indian Women’s Hockey Team for FIH Hockey Pro League in Belgium, Netherlands

New Delhi: Odisha Olympian Deep Grace Ekka has been named as the Vice Captain of the 24-member Indian Women’s Hockey Team for the FIH Hockey Pro League matches to be played in Belgium and Netherlands in June ahead of the much-awaited FIH Hockey Women’s World Cup.

Hockey India on Saturday announced a well-balanced 24-member Indian Women’s Hockey Team, which will be led by Savita and Vice Captained by Deep Grace Ekka.

India is scheduled to play hosts Belgium on 11th and 12th June followed by matches against Argentina on 18th and 19th June and United States on 21st and 22nd June 2022.

While the team list includes Junior World Cup stars Bichu Devi Kharibam, Ishika Chaudhary, Akshata Abaso Dhekale, Baljeet Kaur, Sangita Kumari and Deepika, the league is also likely to witness experienced striker Rani’s return to action after she made her last appearance at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020. She was in rehab to recover from a prolonged hamstring injury.

The Indian Team features goalkeepers Savita and Bichu Devi Kharibam, defenders Deep Grace Ekka, Gurjit Kaur, Nikki Pradhan, Udita, Ishika Chaudhary, Akshata Abaso Dhekale. The midfield will see Nisha, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Monika, Neha, Jyoti, Navjot Kaur, Sonika, Salima Tete and Baljeet Kaur.

The forwardline will see the very experienced Vandana Katariya lead the charge with Lalremsiami, Navneet Kaur, Sharmila Devi, Sangita Kumari, Deepika and Rani. Additionally, Rajini Etimarpu, Mahima Chaudhary and Rajwinder Kaur have been named as standbys.

The Indian Women’s team is currently poised at no.1 position on the pool table in the FIH Hockey Pro League and will be vying to top the charts at the end of the season.

Comments are closed.