Indian Women’s Hockey Team leaves for Argentina Tour 2021

New Delhi: The Indian Women’s Hockey Team left from the Indira Gandhi International Airport, Delhi on Sunday to take part in their tour of Argentina. This tour will be the national side’s first tour after almost a year. 

Hockey India on Sunday named the 25-member Indian Women’s Hockey squad for the tour. The Indian Women’s Team, which will be Captained by Forward Rani with Goalkeeper Savita serving as the Vice Captain, consists of Goalkeepers Rajani Etimarpu and Bichu Devi Kharibam, Defenders Gurjit Kaur, Deep Grace Ekka, Rashmita Minz, Manpreet Kaur, Reena Khokhar, Salima Tete and Nisha, Midfielders Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Lilima Minz, Neha Goyal, Namita Toppo, Monika and Nikki Pradhan and Forwards Vandana Katariya, Navneet Kaur, Navjot Kaur, Jyoti, Udita, Rajwinder Kaur, Lalremsiami and Sharmila Devi.

The Indian team is scheduled to play two matches against Argentina (Junior Women) on 17 January 2021 and 19 January 2021, two matches against Argentina B on 22 January 2021 and 24 January 2021 and four matches against Argentina on 26 January 2021, 28 January 2021, 30 January 2021 and 31 January 2021.

Hockey India and the host National Association have created a bio bubble in Argentina for both the Argentine Women’s Team and the Indian Women’s Team. The Indian Women’s Team will be staying in a hotel where a provision to have separate rooms/halls for the team for all the meals, team meetings, sessions etc have been made.

“It feels amazing to be touring again. We have worked very hard on our game in the last few months and the time has come for us to execute our skills in an international match. Playing in international matches is going to be a bit different this time, since we will be in a bio bubble, however, the team is excited to be back on the field in the best possible manner at the moment,” said Indian Women’s Hockey Team Captain Rani.

The entire Indian contingent underwent a Covid-19 RT-PCR Test 72 hours prior to their departure from New Delhi, India. Though there is no requirement of quarantine upon arrival in Argentina, the team will still be following all safety and health measures as advised by the respective Governments of India & Argentina. Further, the teams will also be following the Hockey India SOPs as available on the Hockey India website.

The Indian Women’s Hockey Team Vice Captain and Goalkeeper Savita thanked Hockey India and SAI for arranging the tour of Argentina.

“We desperately needed to get back into competitive mode as there’s not much time left to go for the Olympics. We have been doing well in practice sessions, but an international match is always the real test for any sportsperson. Therefore, we would like to thank Hockey India and SAI for the efforts they have put in to arrange a tour for us. We are really looking forward to a great tour and hopefully, we start playing to our full potential right from the first match,” said Savita.

The Indian Women’s Hockey Team will play their first match against Argentina (Junior Women) on 17 January 2021 at 1800 hrs ART (18 January 2021 – 0230 hrs IST).

Please find below the 25-member Indian Women’s Hockey squad for the tour of Argentina.

Indian team:

1. Savita (Vice Captain)

2. Rajani Etimarpu

3. Bichu Devi Kharibam

4. Gurjit Kaur

5. Deep Grace Ekka

6. Rashmita Minz

7. Manpreet Kaur

8. Reena Khokhar

9. Salima Tete

10. Nisha

11. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam

12. Lilima Minz

13. Neha Goyal

14. Namita Toppo

15. Monika

16. Nikki Pradhan

17. Vandana Katariya

18. Navneet Kaur

19. Navjot Kaur

20. Jyoti

21. Udita

22. Rajwinder Kaur

23. Rani (Captain)

24. Lalremsiami

25. Sharmila Devi

Source: Hockey India

Comments are closed.