Om Birla Elected as Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha

New Delhi: BJP MP Om Birla was today unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 17th Lok Sabha.

Birla, two-time MP from Rajasthan’s Kota, will take over from eight-term MP Sumitra Mahajan, who did not contest the Lok Sabha elections.

Birla was elected after Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed his name on Day 3 of Lok Sabha session.

His nomination for the Speaker post was backed by all major parties including BJD, Congress, TMC and DMK.

The Opposition did not field any candidate for the Speaker’s post and the motion moved by Prime Minister Modi to choose the Kota-Bundi MP as Speaker was adopted by a voice vote.

A total of 13 motions were moved in support of Om Birla as the Speaker.

Comments are closed.