Seven Odia Players Included in Indian Women’s Rugby Team for Asia Rugby Women’s Championship

New Delhi: Rugby India on Sunday announced the 26-member squad for the Indian Women’s Rugby XVs team who will represent India at the Asia Rugby Women’s Championship at Southern Plains Sports Field, Manila, Philippines from 17th June 2019 – 23rd June 2019.

Seven players from Odisha have been included in the Indian team. The players are Meerarani Hembram, Rajani Sabar, Laxmipriya Sahoo, Parbati Kisku, Hupi Majhi, Sumitra Nayak and Subhalaxmi Barik.
This championship is one of the qualifier rounds for the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup to be held in New Zealand. The squad which played their international debut last year, will be led by captain Vahbiz Bharucha and face teams, Singapore, Philippines and China.

The team is supported by Societe Generale, the financial partner of Rugby India and is participating under the aegis of the Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU), the governing body for the sport of Rugby in India.

The squad was part of 15-day Indian National Training camp held in Bhubaneswar, Odisha from 2nd to 16th June.

Comments are closed.