High Voltage Campaigning Ends For Patkura Polls

Bhubaneswar: Campaigning for the elections to Patkura assembly constituency in Kendrapara district ended this evening. With all three major political parties having campaigned heavily for their candidates, the election is seen to be the most watched one in Odisha in recent years.

While the Biju Janata Dal and Bharatiya Janata Party campaigned for their candidates with forty star campaigners each, the congress also tried to attract the voters with full steam. While Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik went on a road show in the constituency to campaign for Sabitri Sgarwalla, many central ministers campaigned for the BJP candidate Bijay Mahapatra. State Congress president Niranjan Pujari and senior leader  Narasingha Mishra campaigned for Jayant Mohanty in Patkura.

Patkura Assembly constituency has 2,44,747 voters of which females constitute 1, 17,306, males 1,27,431 and third gender ten voters. The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for the elections. While 309 polling booths have been set up, more that 1700 polling personnel have been deputed for the process. Four companies of CAPF have been deployed and 52 micro observers will keep an eye on the whole process. About 40 cctv’s have been installed and web casting of the polling process will be done in 31 booths.

Comments are closed.