Odisha Govt to Set up Four More Planetariums

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government will set up four more planetariums in the State.

The new planetariums will be opened in Baripda, Rayagada, Keonjhar and Gopalpur at the cost of Rs 30 crore, state Science & Technology Minister Ashok Chandra Panda told the Assembly today.

The Minister further said that the government will also build science centres in 10 districts for promotion of science.

At present, Odisha has two planetariums in Bhubaneswar and Sambalpur.

The planetarium in Bhubaneswar was built by the Science and Technology Department in 1990 with the aim for creating awareness about activities like night sky viewing through audio visual programs and poster shows. The planetarium is named after famous Odia astronomer Pathani Samanta.

Odisha’s second planetarium in Sambalpur was inaugurated by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in 2017. It was named after late President and scientist APJ Abdul Kalam.

Comments are closed.